Jump Jam, Bridgend – for kids of all ages!

So you think trampoline parks are just for kiddies?  I must admit, so did I until recently, but with the new Jump Jam opening up in Bridgend this summer, I have found my inner child and have been donning bright orange socks and having a bit of a jump around. 

If you’re tempted to give it a go, take my advice and remember to wear a good sports bra and make sure your pelvic floor muscles are well trained before you go!

So what’s on offer at Jump Jam?

Free Play Jump Sessions

The first time I went was for my eldest’s birthday (he has just turned nine).  With his birthday being mid-week we were looking for something to do after school, on a wet and miserable day, before heading out for a birthday dinner.

When he suggested Jump Jam, I wasn’t really expecting to go on with him, but when we arrived promptly at 4.00 p.m. for the start of the hours jump session, as it was so quiet me and my husband decided to go on with them.

Jump Jam Bridgend 1

I’m so glad we did, we had so much fun!  We spent most of the time in the Dodge Ball section, where we ran about like loons, all of us together taking target practice at each other with balls.  All was going well, until my uncoordinated husband managed to accidentally hit my youngest son square in the nose!  A few tears and a change of activity needed. 

So we then went on to try out the other trampolines, which mainly involved running across all the trampolines and bouncing about. 

My favourite was the section where you have to bounce and tap the lights, harder than it looks, trust me.  I also loved the basket ball nets, with the help of the bounce from the trampoline I felt like Michael Jordan.

Jump Jam Bridgend 2

To have a break, as us grown-ups were now utterly exhausted; we encouraged the boys to have a go at the climbing wall, where they could race to the top.  Not their favourite bit, they’d rather be bouncing like Tiger, but it gave us an excuse for a much needed rest as we watched them.

Jump Jam Bridgend 3

The one hour free play flew by, but I have to admit I was ready to come off.  It showed up just how unfit I am!

Free play sessions last for an hour and start on the hour.  It cost £8.95 if pre-booked online and £10.00 for walk ins.

Fitness Classes

If the whole free play, and running around with kids doesn’t grab you, why not try the adult fitness classes?  Running on a Monday, Wednesday and Thursday evening at 8:00 – 9:00 p.m. you can bounce around in a structured fitness class. 

It was a little like doing circuits but on trampolines.  The instructor was very enthusiastic and was a bit army like in shouting at us to keep going, which if I’m honest is just what I need if I’m training, as otherwise I’m a bit lazy. 

He had us doing jumping jacks, burpees, the plank and press ups all on the trampolines, which apparently is all very good for the core muscles.

Jump Jam Bridgend 4

We were also put through our paces by doing a relay of running across the inflatable crash mats, which was super hard, but we had so much fun doing it that it didn’t feel like exercise, it was just a good laugh.

I headed home feeling full of energy and like I had just had some fun with friends rather than a boring workout. 

I did however pay for it the next day when I found it difficult to walk up the stairs!  The first time I did it I ached for two days solid, so be warned!

Jump Fit classes cost £5.00 per session.  Discounts for block bookings.

Toddler Sessions

In the week, during term time, Jump Jam also run toddler sessions for little ones under 5 years old.  

It’s a nice change from regular soft play and they enjoy getting the chance to do something different.  They get to enjoy the whole bouncing experience through safe play with arranged activities.

Toddler sessions, run Monday – Fridays at 10.00 – 11.00 or 1.00 – 2.00 during term time. And Monday – Saturdays 9.00 – 10.00 during the holidays.

Toddler sessions cost £3.50 for your little one and £1.50 for the accompanying adult.

Viewing Only

I have also taken my boys after school and haven’t gone on with them as I’ve had my 18 month old with me, and she’s just too little to be on there with school age children bouncing around everywhere. 

On these occasions we have made use of the viewing area.  It’s an elevated area which gives you a great viewpoint to watch your kiddies while they jump.  

Jump Jam Bridgend 5

It also has a well equipped children play area, which has a good selection of colouring in and toys for toddlers. 

fullsizeoutput_a30

It also has a nice café area serving hot drinks along with some tempting cakes.  Well it would be rude not too and I did lose a couple of pounds in the exercise class after all!

Additional Information

Note, you have to wear special Jump Jam grip socks to jump, which you can purchase for £1.75 and then re-use.

For more information visit their website: www.jumpjam.co.uk

Address: Unit 2, Horsefair Road, Waterton Industrial Estate, Bridgend CF31 3YN
Telephone: 01656 253161

The venue has baby changing

2 thoughts on “Jump Jam, Bridgend – for kids of all ages!

Leave a Reply

